Radio Tirana Internacional Live
Radio Tirana Internacional


Albania, alongside the EU, bans all flights to Belarus

  • 6/21/2021 4:23 PM
Albania, alongside the EU, bans all flights to Belarus

Seven non-member states of the European Union, including Albania, have decided to suspend flights to Belarus. In a press release, the EU Council said today 's decision "further strengthens existing restrictive measures by banning all types of aircraft from Belarus from flying over the EU and its airports".

EU candidate countries Albania, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and EFTA countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, have already joined the decision. "These states will ensure that their national policies are in line with the Council's decision," the statement said underlining that the European Union welcomes this commitment.

EU bans flights from flying over Belarus Airspace in the wake of the shocking arrest of a journalist last month after Belarusian officials forced his plane Greece-to-Lithuania flight to land in Minsk.

/Klara Ruci/