Radio Tirana Internacional Live
Radio Tirana Internacional


The Croatian Minister asks the 5 EU states to recognize Kosovo

  • 6/17/2021 4:01 PM
The Croatian Minister asks the 5 EU states to recognize Kosovo

Croatia is working to help Kosovo be recognized by recent EU members. This is what Croatian Foreign Minister Gordan Grlic Radman told local media.

Grlic stated that Croatia encourages the five EU members, Cyprus, Greece, Romania, Slovakia and Spain to recognize Kosovo as this would contribute to the stabilization of the region and Kosovo itself.

This Wednesday, the Croatian Foreign Minister is taking part in the GLOBSEC international conference in Bratislava, where the situation in the Western Balkans was also discussed.

The Croatian Minister said that for the stabilization of the region, 3 conditions are essential, respect for the territorial integrity of states, constitutional equality of Bosniaks, Serbs and Croats in Bosnia and Herzegovina and the establishment of mutual trust after the wars of the 1990s.

"The territorial integrity of the Balkan countries must be preserved and respected, without restoring the borders, as we have heard in recent months circulating some famous non-papers that were headed in that direction", said Grlić Radman.

Kosovo declared independence in 2008 and has so far been recognized by 100 countries including all EU member states except Cyprus, Greece, Romania, Spain and Slovakia.

We are currently working with the government of Serbia to finally recognize Kosovo. A meeting between Prime Minister Albin Kurti and Serbian President Aleksandar Vucic took place in Brussels, where the first positions on the normalization of relations between the two countries were presented.

/Klara Ruci/